top of page

Love it and Loathe it: Hair

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

My curls are soft and defined. They don’t retract to form small curls that turn into a luxurious afro, but the shrinkage can be real. When I was younger, I didn’t wear it curly often though. I would straighten it on the weekend, leave it for the week, and then repeat the process. I did this without knowing how much damage I was doing. It came to the point though, where I would feel uncomfortable wearing my curly and uncontrollable lion’s mane out in public. It wasn’t my mom’s fault- growing up with “mixed” people’s hair. It was difficult to find someone to do it. Either they didn’t do it well, they left me with a burning scalp, they took 4 hours (one hour of that dedicated to just brushing my curls), or they refused to see me because they were unsure of how to approach it. Both “White” salons and “Black” salons weren’t working for me, so I started to learn myself. 


About a year ago, I wanted a change; I wanted to wear my hair in its natural state. So, I started to watch YouTube videos on how to keep my mane controlled, silky, and voluminous all in one, while also shopping for new hair products for curly hair. The first time I wore my hair curly…it was tragic. My curls were barely curls, and I didn’t feel like myself. Whenever I saw someone I knew, or didn’t, I felt like I was being criticized. That day I immediately straightened my hair when I got back home. It was then that I realized that taking care of my curls was going to be a journey, but I knew what I had to do to maintain them. 


When my hair is straight, many people assume I have hair extensions or weave. Of course, there is nothing wrong with hair extensions or weaves, but I do have to admit that I get offended that people make this assumption solely based on the stigma that all, or only, black girls wear weaves and wigs. Many women of all different races wear hair extensions or weave. 


I've recently discovered a few places and products that my hair and I have come to love. The journey to find these places and products was not easy, but it was worth it. Everyone's hair is unique. A product that I use may not work for someone else's hair and visa versa. But, If you find yourself curious as to what hair products I use, feel free to comment on this post or message me to find out!


Some people tell me to wear my hair curly while others tell me to wear my hair straightened. They defend their statements by saying they like it better that way, or because it’s more fitting for my face, or makes me look younger, some even say playful. I’ve come to the point in my life where I disregard comments like those because it’s my hair and nobody else’s. I know what it needs and what I want. I love my curls and my straight hair, and I’m so grateful that I can wear both styles and feel beautiful. 





60 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page