top of page

Book Review and Discussion: Writers & Lovers

April 22, 2022

Spoiler free review

Book: Writers & Lovers

Author: Lily King

Publisher: Grove Press (2020)

Overall Rating: 4.5/5


To start of this first book review, I’d like to preface with the fact that my ratings will always be out of five. Presently, I don’t look for any specific aspects or characteristics of a book when I consider my rating. It’s more of an if I like it, I like it kind of thing. So please appreciate that these book reviews will not be written from an academic thought process, but from a ‘do you like totally agree or no’ thought process.


Writers & Lovers by Lily King is the first book I’ll be reviewing here (I know it came out in 2020, but I just picked it up from Goodwill for a dollar so, yeah). Initially when it was published, I didn’t think I wanted to pick it up, but the whole dollar deal happened and I did, and I’m glad. The plot seems so simple when you read the synopsis, but Lily King executes it so beautifully. The main character, Casey, is navigating the many ups and downs that life has thrown at her. Loss, love, work, passion, and anxiety are just a few themes that stuck out to me while reading. Casey’s journey as a woman and a writer are paced by King in a way that makes the book almost impossible to put down; you just keep wondering what the protagonists next step is.


By the end I found myself surprisingly pleased with Casey’s choices, even when I didn’t think I would. Once I closed the book and started reflecting, I not only respected her choices, but I saw the emotion and reason behind them; the deep-rooted why’s that drove Casey and this part of her life to fruition. If you’re looking for a book with a beautiful, realistic character development written in a way that makes you feel as though you are experiencing the protagonist’ every move, then I highly recommend you pick this one up.


If you’ve already read Writers & Lovers, let me know what you thought about it in the comments! What did you rate this one and why?


Follow me on Goodreads @ Jayla Wilson and on Fable @ ToriWils








11 views0 comments
bottom of page